Skip to content
July 20, 2010 / Taimur Khan

Dua

“Dua” by Ghani Khan

Loy de husan ao noor daryaba
Ma la yao takey de noor ra
stargey dakey de khanda ra
shonde dake de soror ra
dey mastey ao dey arman la
yao tasveer de janan raka
sta pe meena nazedal ra
sta pe khule makh goror ra
da dey khud savey baghche la
yao vada de bahar gwaram
ze da navayam che janat ra
ze da navayam che hoor ra
dadey khob ao sa ao vakht la
ishara de tabeer raka
ma la zre de bachahano
ao sena de yao faqir ra

Prayer

O river of beauty and radiance! Grant me a scintilla of light;

Grant me eyes full of laughter and lips full of delight.

For this minor heart of mine, I seek a beloved’s souvenir;

O river of beauty and radiance! Grant me a scintilla of light.

For this pitch-dark sorrow’s manor, a glowing grain to quell the night;

Grant me eyes full of laughter and lips full of delight.

For this rapture and its yearning, grant me a dear beloved’s sight,

Indulge me with your greater love; grant me your gracious face’s pride.

For this being’s withered garden, I seek a covenant of spring,

I don’t ask you to grant me heaven; I’m not seeking Toor’s height.

Let this dream’s very breath and time point to its own interpretation,

Grant me the bosom of a fakir, and a heart with a shah’s elation.

Complete poem translated by Taimur Khan

Leave a Reply

